Plenary Program

  • Recommend
  • Tweet
  • Print
  • Email

The BIO World Congress Plenary Program features a line-up of leading industry executives from each of the key industrial biotech sectors. >> View the plenary speaker biographies.

State and Regional Approaches to Developing the Biobased Economy & George Washington Carver Award for Innovation in Industrial Biotechnology Presentation

Lunch Plenary Session
Monday, July 20, 2015
12:00 - 2:15pm
Location: 517 BCD 

A dynamic panel of global government representatives will discuss current industry trends in their regions, policies driving accomplishments, or stalling growth in this sector.

Sponsored by: 

Award Sponsored by:

Moderator: James C. Greenwood, President & CEO, Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO)
Terry Branstad, Governor of Iowa, United States
Pramod Chaudhari, Executive Chairman, Praj Industries Limited
Barend Verachtert, Deputy Head of Biotechnologies Unit, European Commission  
Bernardo Silva, Executive President, Brazilian Industrial Biotechnology Association (ABBI) 
Tyler Whale, President, Ontario Agri-Food Technologies (OAFT)
Marcos Vinicius de Souza, Secretary of State for Innovation, Ministry of Development, Industry, and Foreign Trade, Brazil
The Honorable James C. Greenwood The Honorable Terry Branstad    Pramod Chaudhari Barend Verachtert Bernardo Silva Tyler Whale Marcos Vinicius de Souza

George Washington Carver Award Recipient

Jonathan S. Wolfson

Achieving Feedstock Sustainability in the Biobased Economy

General Plenary Session
Monday, July 20, 2015
4:30pm - 6:00pm
Location: 517 BCD


As industrial biotech companies commercialize their technologies, there is a mounting pressure to validate the sustainability of their renewable raw materials.  Our dynamic panel of industry thought leaders will discuss the assessment of feedstock sustainability, and how woody biomass, oilseeds, and agricultural residues help to create a sustainable future. 

Supported by: 

Moderator:  Matthew Rudolf, Business Development Manager, Roundtable on Sustainable Biomaterials (RSB)

Ken Shields, Chairman, President & CEO, Conifex Timber  
Allan Green, Research Program Director for Bioproducts, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) 
James Levine, Chief Executive Officer, Sapphire Energy
Steve Fabijanski, President & CEO, Agrisoma Biosciences 
Greg Jenkins, Chief Executive Officer, Ciris Energy
Matthew Rudolf Ken Shields Allan Green James Levine Steve Fabijanski Greg Jenkins


Biobased Innovations for the Coming Decade

Breakfast Plenary Session
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
8:00- 10:00am
Location: 517 BCD


What does the future hold for industrial biotechnology?  Our panelists will discuss the latest breakthroughs and achievements in the science of industrial biotechnology.

Sponsored by: 

Moderator: Jim Lane, Editor & Publisher, Biofuels Digest
Olga Selifonova, CEO & Founder, Reluceo Holdings
William Radany, President & CEO, Verdezyne 
David Demirjian, President & CEO, ZuChem
Andras Forgacs, Co-Founder & CEO, Modern Meadow
Jim Lane Olga Selifonova William Radany David Demirjian Andras Forgacs


Biobased Economy Success Stories 

Lunch Plenary Session
Tuesday, July 21, 2015
12:00- 2:15pm
Location 517 BCD


A distinguished panel of industry leaders will discuss the steps taken to gain commercial success in their sector of the biobased economy.  They will also highlight strategies for staying competitive in spite of the drop in oil pricing, policy instability, and technological challenges. 

Sponsored by: 

Moderator: Andrew Hagan, Director, Head of Chemicals Industry, World Economic Forum
Robert Graham, Founder, Chairman & CEO, Ensyn 
Vincent Chornet, Co-founder, President & CEO, Enerkem
Joel Stone, President, North America & Global Vice President Engineering, Green Biologics
Tjerk de Ruiter, Chief Executive Officer, Corbion
Theodora Retsina, Chief Executive Officer, American Process
Dan Cummings, President, POET-DSM Advanced Biofuels, LLC
Andrew Hagan Robert Graham  Vincent Chornet Joel Stone Tjerk de Ruiter Theodora Retsina Dan Cummings 


Aviation Biofuels Get Off the Ground &  The Rosalind Franklin Award for Leadership in Industrial Biotechnology Presentation

Lunch Plenary Session
Wednesday, July 22, 2015
12:00 - 2:15pm
Location: 517 BCD


This panel will feature aviation biofuels producers, airline companies, and industry experts who will discuss their work to make sustainable aviation fuels a commercial reality.  Speakers will highlight the importance of strategic partnerships, the viability of aviation biofuels, funding challenges, and the role of government policy in supporting the growth of the industry.

Award Sponsored by:

Moderator: Steve Csonka, Executive Director, Commercial Aviation Alternative Fuels Initiative (CAAFI)
Alejandro Rios Galvan, Director, Sustainable Bioenergy Research Consortium, Masdar Institute of Science and Technology
Maria Fiskerud, Nordic Director, SkyNRG 
Michael Lakeman, Regional Director, Biofuel Strategy & Associate Technical Fellow, Boeing Commercial Airplanes 
Theodore M. Kniesche, Vice President of Business Development, Fulcrum BioEnergy
Steve Csonka Alejandro Rios Galvan Maria Fiskerud Michael Lakeman  Theodore M. Kniesche
Rosalind Franklin Award Recipient
Jennifer Holmgren